top of page

Term Dates

The New Zealand school year is divided into four terms for state and state-integrated schools . 

We have some flexibility around our start and finish dates and the dates for Terms 2 and 3 are fixed, and set by the Ministry of Education (MOE).  To view the MOE guidelines for each school year, click here. 

Each year our Board of Trustees sets the dates for the following school year based on information from the MOE who set the amount of days each school must be open for instruction. 

2023 Term Dates

Term 1 - Tuesday 31 January to Thursday 6 April
School closed on:
Monday 6 February - Waitangi Day
Thursday 30 March - parent and teacher interviews

Term 2 - Monday 24 April to Friday 30 June
School closed on:

Monday 24 April - staff only day

Tuesday 25 April - ANZAC Day
Monday 5 June - Kings Birthday observed
Friday 30 June - staff only day

Term 3 - Monday 17 July to Friday 22 September
School closed on:
Thursday 14 September - parent and teacher interviews

Term 4 - Monday 9 October to Wednesday 20 December
School closed on:
Monday 23 October - Labour Day
Friday 17 November - Canterbury Show Day

bottom of page